Chillow Reviews: Does this Product Work?

Chillow Reviews: Does this Product Work?

“Chillow” is a pillow insert designed to keep you cool throughout the night. It has been seen in late night and early morning television ads over the past few years. Today we offer our review of the As Seen on TV Chillow.

Sponsored links

What is Chillow?

Chillow is a pillow insert which is designed to keep you cool as you sleep at night. It is filled with water and you can place it in your refrigerator for 15-30 minutes for “maximum coolness.”

A Tale of Two Chillows

There are actually two Chillows on the market. The Original Chillow is manufactured in the U.S. by Soothsoft and has been available since the 1990’s. There is also an As Seen on TV version of Chillow, which is manufactured in China.

The website for the Original Chillow is, while the website for the As Seen on TV Chillow is

Our review is for the As Seen on TV version of Chillow.

How much does Chillow cost?

Online: Chillow costs $12.99 plus $6.95 processing and handling for a total cost of $19.94. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can add a second product for “free” if you pay another $6.95. That would make two Chillows a total of $26.89.

Delivery takes 2 to 6 weeks, and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee, less P&H.

In Stores: Chillow is now available in stores. You can find it at retailers such as Target or Bed Bath and Beyond for about $13. We have seen it on sale for as low as $8.

Our Chillow Review

After using two As Seen on TV Chillows, our staff put together a list of pros, cons, and other useful information.


  • Temperature. It does provide a nice, cool sensation to your head and face.
  • Other uses. We found that Chillow worked better as a temporary cool compress than an all-night cooling pillow.
  • Setup. The initial setup process is fairly straightforward and relatively easy.


Sponsored Links
  • Temperature. Although Chillow starts off cool, it eventually loses its coolness throughout the night, albeit slower than a regular pillow. After a few hours, the Chillow may tend to feel warmer than a regular pillow. Flipping it over or using a second Chillow may remedy this.
  • Leakage. You are required to add water to the Chillow, and this water is held in by a plug. We’ve had a few readers complain (below) that their Chillows leaked during the night.
  • Noise. We found that there was a noticeable “crinkling” noise. This is not a problem to everyone, but light sleepers may have a problem with it.
  • Smell. If you’re sensitive to smells, you may not like the way the chemical/plastic smell (reminiscent of a child’s blowup raft) which emanates from the Chillow. You may be able to lessen this by keeping it the Chillow inside the pillow case, or by cleaning it before use.
  • Bunches up. The material inside the Chillow tends to bunch up after some use. This “bunching up” is not easily fixed.

Other Considerations

  • There is an “activation” process which must be done once and requires about a four hour wait before you can use the Chillow.
  • You will need to add about 8 cups of water to the Chillow.
  • Recommended maintenance of the Chillow requires removing all of the air once a month.
  • It cannot be used in direct sunlight or placed in the freezer.
  • It’s not recommended for pets. A cat could easily puncture the Chillow.
  • Chillow is heavier than it looks, perhaps due to the 8 cups of water inside. The weight may compress fluffy, soft, or down pillows.

Television Commercial

Below is a television commercial for Chillow Pillow:

Transcript of the television commercial above:

Are you tired of those hot, sticky, sleepless nights? Are you fed up with flipping your pillow looking for relief? Some nights you feel like you’re on fire. Introducing Chillow, the amazing new pillow pack that transforms your pillow into a Chillow. Look, pillows trap body heat, increasing perspiration, but Chillow keeps your head cool and dry. The secret is SoothSoft technology, the water-cooled memory foam that keeps you cool for hours. He likes the room hot, she likes the room cold. Chillow is customized to cradle you in memory foam cooling comfort. Even if your room feels like a desert, you’ll feel like you’re in a cool oasis. Watch. These thermographic images show significantly lower blue Chillow temperatures, but the down pillow is many degrees warmer. Chillow fits perfectly inside your pillow case, or sleep right on the slip-proof cushion.

(User testimonials)

Robin P.: “When I suffer from a migraine, I usually use an ice pack. It tends to leak and create a mess. But with Chillow it’s so much more comfortable. It makes me feel better instantly.”

Teri M.: “I’ve been experiencing hot flashes and night sweats, but with Chillow it’s instant cool, instant relief, and it’s wonderful.”

Demitrius V.:”Every night I used to wake up in a puddle of sweat. Chillow really helps spread that coolness around and now I feel comfortable.”

There’s more. Cool, soothing Chillow is a perfect compress for headaches, migraines, backaches, or even throbbing, aching feet. Rigid ice packs lose their cool, but ultra suede Chillow lets you chill out  all night long. Look again. Chillow stays almost 10 degrees cooler.

Now order the amazing Chillow for the special TV price of just $12.99. But wait! Call in the next 10 minutes and we’ll send you a second Chillow free. Just pay separate processing and handling. You get it all – two Chillows for just $12.99, so call now.


The Google Trends search history chart below shows interest in Chillow dating back to 2004. There was a notable surge in July 2013, which is perhaps when the As Seen on TV version began marketing heavily.

Bottom Line

You will probably either really enjoy, or really dislike the As Seen on TV Chillow. The consensus here is that it was a akin to a large plastic bag with water and a small cushion inside.

If you get a unit that doesn’t leak, and if you aren’t sensitive to sounds and smells, you may find the Chillow to be a pleasant product.

We recommend purchasing locally to avoid shipping costs and delays, and to facilitate the return process, if necessary.

Your Turn

Have you used either version of Chillow? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Updated December 26, 2014
Originally published June 2013

Sponsored links
  • Teresa F.

    I used the chillow for two nights works fine except the cap is very hard to come off. Suggestion try a threaded cap it would make it a lot easier.

  • Debra

    I held high hopes for this chillow. My head is always hot and sweaty due to hyperhydrosis. It did keep my head cool through the night, but only if I moved my head from one end to the other because it became quite warm. I learned to tolerate the crackling sound in my ear. I woke one night drenched. All the cheap plastic cover was brittle and had split. Now I have to find a product that is more reliable and much better made with quality materials.
    Bottom line…..don’t waste your money.

  • elle

    Do not buy the chillow the foam inside immediately bunched up and made it uncomfortable and is frustrating to try fix. My partner was excited about getting these but was up all night trying to fix it. Such a dissapointment

  • richard grissom

    Tried it the first night and it leaked! And not from the cap but at the seams!

  • Alee

    I got my chillow this morning at 9:00am and could finally use it at 3:00pm and i did all the instructions and got so excited to use it I put it in my pillow case and tried laying on it to see how it felt and I LOVED it and I left it in my pillow case on my bed while I did other things. it is now 5:20pm and I went to lay down in my bed to watch tv and realized my whole pillow case and a fraction of my mattress was soaking wet I tried to squeeze more water out of the chillow to see where it was coming out of and its coming out of the cheap fricken plastic valve and its not even coming out of the lid of the valve its coming out of the part where the valve and the chillow meet it is a huge rip of I was so disappointed DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Mr. Tracy Patterson

    OK, I have to admit, I thought this product was a great idea, after all, I sweat profusely and took the chance. Bad idea, yes the chillow was cool to put my head on, and yes I did sleep and sweat less, but within 3 weeks the leaking, the bunching up, the crackling noise was just too much. I called to get a return receipt number to send the product back and was told I was past my 30-day warranty. It seems the 30 days starts when they ship, not when you get there product. They would exchange but not refund, being unemployed, money is very tight. NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER, product needs to be redesigned and made to last, not with plastic and foam. I wish someone would develop a lasting product for us men that go through MAN-A-PAUSE…

  • scott

    Chillow as a company is terrible! Customer Service is terrible!
    I ordered 2 of their pillows at the end of June. Took 6 weeks to get it. When I looked at the Chillow it did not look like something I wanted to use. Forgot to return it. 2 months later I called for my return authorization code and the Chillow Customer Service Denied my return. I talked to several people there and they said not after 30 days, Really?!! So now I have 2 Chillows in the original package because the crap company will not take their stupid pillow back. They don’t even want it!!
    Do not Buy A Chillow Pillow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Michael Mutka

    I used the chillow pillow for 1 night, thank God I had a doctors appointment the following day after using it! I went into hypo volemic shock, my blood pressure dropped to 60/30, i went into renal failure, and also broke out in hives from head to toe. My doctor immediatly sent me to the emergency room and ended up being admitted to the hospital for treatment. The doctors said that had I had not gotten to the hospital, I would have had approximently 15 minutes to live!!! DO NOT buy this product!! More than 2500 people in the U.S. have had ill effects from using this product!!!!! DO NOT PURCHASE THIS ITEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • waffles

    We’ll try to get one in the near future.

  • Carol

    I bought the Chillow and it’s ok. I mainly use it on my lap when I use my laptop. The best way to keep it from leaking is to take a balloon and put the inferior plug inside the balloon–a small one will work (approx. size L: 2 1/4″ X W: 1 1/4″).I had no more problems with plug popping out or leaks.

  • Dee

    Bought the Chillow about a week ago. I haven’t had any problems with leaking, although I have problems with it bunching up. I have figured out how to fix it, open the valve, blow some air in, use your finger to get the foam inside straight on that side, then put cap on and shake while holding the corners. The foam will go back into place and then you have to burp the air back out. Unfortunatly, this is a pain in the a**, and I have to do it EVERY night!!! Just plain annoying. I do think I am going to try to find a large gel pack and see if that works better.

  • Amanda

    I’ve had my Chillow for about 3 weeks now and I love it. One minor leak because I had the plug in the wrong spot and the weight of my head on it caused it to open up. Other than that it’s been great. I’m sleeping cooler than I was and that was the whole point of buying it.

    I got mine from an “As Seen on TV” store since I don’t do the online shopping thing.

  • Elliott

    I bought the chillow today and carefully followed the setup instructions. I checked to make sure that the cap was secure but within a half hour, about a cup of water had leaked out (it looks like it is leaking at the base of the cap). Fortunately, I realized it was leaking and got it out of the bed before it did too much damage. How sad because I was really hoping this would work. The manufacturer must know about this leaking problem and should fix it!

  • paul

    I was ready to get them for my wife and I, until I read the reviews.Wow, not the first good review. Thanks all for the heads up.

  • Penguin

    We bought the buy 2 special offer. Mine kept bunching up,and I had to re-adjust it every morning as best I could. My Wife woke up in a big wet mess on our new $1800 bed. We thankfully opted for a mattress cover and that saved the mattress but we will be returning these lame things. after about 3 hours, they get just as warm as a pillow. We have only had them for 2 weeks and already had nothing but issues. We will be returning them, as we do not need the headache of them. they are heavy, weight down the pillow, and no where does it say that these things will be filled with 8 cups of water. they just call it “water-cooled technology” well, that could mean anything. they should just use a Gel-pack inside the thing, as the water is a pain, and had we realized there would be 16 cups worth of water in our bed, just ready to explode every night, we would have never bought them. Buyer Beware.

  • June

    I’m a senior citizen and I don’t move around much at night I pretty much stay in the same spot while sleeping. I purchased the Chillow from an ad on TV. I’m not as thrilled as I thought I would be. I awoke after the first nights use, to find that it had leaked, even though the cap was secure. I’m so disappointed and I am returning it to the company.

  • Alan

    A pain to setup and leaked first night. Also, too hard for me. Waste of time and money.

  • Herman

    They sold my credit card, my address and my cell info to the 3rd party. I had to cancel my credit card. I started getting phone calls from this number 866-379-2003. They charged me 29.99 for some coupons and getting more calls. I will never do business with them ever again!!!!! Don’t Trust Them!!!

  • Peter

    This product is a piece of cr-p. I bought 4 chillows and a jumbo. They all leaked and I woke up in a wet bed. I complained and was told I was over 30 days and if Returned the product to them, they would replace them. Get my money back,hell no. Don’t buy this junk!!!!!!

  • Martin

    I got my Chillow yesterday and followed the set-up instructions to the tee (frankly, it was a bit of a pain). When it was ready for use, it worked quite well…for a very short time. I awoke in the middle of the night to a soaking-wet bed. The cheap plastic plug (incredibly poor design) had pushed out slightly and leaked badly. I understand that this is a common problem with Chillows. Why did they not produce these with a screw-on cap? Chillows cool fairly well, but the leakage factor renders many of them useless. Overall, the product is a piece of crap.

  • Bonnie

    Well, I had it three days and was in love. I had planed on buying the body size Chillow then it happened one big lump. I have tried everything to try and straighten it out and can’t. I hope this falls under the warranty because I would like to try again. :( Beware it’s fragile.

  • Mike Riley

    Mine bunched up almost immediately, which is frustrating. I can still use it even though it’s bunched up, but there’s a big lump where the filler material sits. It still works, but a large gel-filled icepack might give me the same results.


More in Reviews

kitty shack website 2015

Kitty Shack Reviews: Do Cats Love it?

James WhiteJuly 15, 2015
Perricone Cold Plasma Sub-D Website Review Screenshot

Perricone’s Cold Plasma Sub-D Reviews

wafflesJuly 14, 2015
tummy tuck belt review

Tummy Tuck Belt Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesJuly 11, 2015
nono pro website november 2014

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (June 2015 Update)

wafflesJune 4, 2015
balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015