Reviews

StufZ Review and Product Info

StufZ Review and Product Info

StufZ is a burger press which is advertised as a way to create the ultimate stuffed burger. Read our StufZ reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

About Stufz

Although most consumers have only seen Stufz advertised since mid-2013, the product has been on the market for about 5 years. It was first marketed independently by inventor Dave Hanson. The product was originally called “Stufz: The Next Generation of Gourmet Burgers” which was eventually shortened to Stufz. The original website was stufz.net, which now forwards to the current official website, buystufz.com.

At some point in 2013, the product was re-branded with celebrity chef Brian Duffy (of Bar Rescue fame) pitching the product, and the new official website, buystufz.com, which was registered on June 17, 2013.

As of 2014, Stufz can be found in some stores. A local As Seen on TV store reported that sales of Stufz were brisk, and it was their most popular item in stock. It is available for $13.99.

This Stufz display was seen in an As Seen on TV store in Las Vegas NV in Feb. 2014.

This Stufz display was seen in an As Seen on TV store in Las Vegas NV in Feb. 2014.

How much does Stufz cost?

  • Stufz costs $9.99 + $4.99 shipping for a total of $14.98.
  • There is a “second one free” which you cannot opt out of, for another $4.99, bringing your total to $19.97.
  • Warning: Because they sell this buy-one-get-one offer as a set, some consumers mistakenly select two sets, which means they are ordering 4 Stufz for $19.97 + $19.97 = $39.94
  • You can now buy Stufz in stores for about $14.
Google trends shows searches on "Stufz" were minimal until mid-2013.

Google trends shows searches on “Stufz” were minimal until mid-2013.

Stufz Television Commercial

Here is a commercial for Stufz, which began airing in mid-2013.

Our Stufz Review

Stufz is marketed as a way to create perfect stuffed hamburgers. We put the product to the test, and present our results below.

Although some testers were able to quickly master the nuances of creating a perfect Stufz burger, not everyone that tested it here found success. Below are some of the concerns our testers had:

  • Thickness: Our testers were inclined to fill Stufz to the top, creating a very thick burger. Cooking a burger of this thickness takes a little more time and patience than “regular” burgers. If you want thinner bugers, simply avoid filling Stufz all the way to the top.
  • Leakage: One of the main complaints was that of the contents leaking out. This did not happen to everyone, but it seemed to be caused by overfilling. There is a learning curve involved with this problem. One solution to leakage is to slightly pinch along the seam of the top of the burger, which is where leakages were most apt to occur.
  • Technique: How much meat to use on the bottom and top was something of a learning process. Using too little meat on top led to leakage, while using too much meat on top required longer grilling times and an unevenness in texture.
  • Construction: The product has the feel of flimsy plastic. Pressing down on it at times gave the sensation that the sides were about to collapse. It would be interesting to compare the 2013 Stufz with a 2009 model to see if the construction has changed since then.
  • Sticking: Stufz does not feature non-stick surfaces, and can be messy when creating several patties.

Sponsored Links

Note on Ordering
As with many As Seen on TV Products, ordering from the Stufz website can be confusing and frustrating for some consumers. As stated above, it is easy to select “2” Stufz from their drop-down on the ordering menu with the belief you are ordering one plus the second one “free.” Selecting “2” however is actually selecting two sets of two, meaning you are ordering 4 for nearly $40.

Ordering Stufz online will also likely result in a deluge or marketing calls, with attempts to sell you additional products. This is one more reason to pick it up locally.

Alternatives
Stufz is not the only stuffed burger press on the market. There are many to choose from, such as a $7 model we spotted at Bed, Bath, and Beyond.

Bottom Line

Stufz is a good idea, which could be great if some improvements were made, such as a nonstick surface and more durable construction. Even the most voracious burger lover, however, may leave the Stufz website with a bad taste in their mouth due to a confusing ordering process.

Now that it is available in stores, we advise purchasing locally to avoid shipping costs and delays, plus unwanted telemarketing calls.

Your Stufz Reviews

Have you used Stufz? Give us your reviews in the comments below.

Further reading

Sponsored links
View Comments (17)

17 Comments

  1. Bob wiss

    April 18, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I bought one….i think its awesome. I watched the video on utube which helped. Pressing 3 times as instructed worked great! Whoever took a half hour to make 4 is a bit thumb oriented.

    Makes a wicked swiss,bacon,mushroom burger. Cheers

  2. Tess

    April 1, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    We were very excited to get this and couldn’t wait to try it. Well, don’t waste your time or money. It takes forever to make one burger. It took us about half an hour to make 4 burgers. It is very difficult to get out of the press because it sticks. It sticks to the lid when you open it and the top comes off the bottom no matter how hard you press it together to seal it. Then when you cook it, it comes apart and looks like just two patties on top of another. All the things that were stuffed inside oozed out because it wouldn’t stay sealed. Regardless, this piece of garbage went in the trash.

  3. Jim

    March 30, 2014 at 5:05 am

    Thanks for all the info. Moving to SC soon and planned on grilling a lot, which is new for me. Will watch for at CVS.

  4. Ellen

    February 13, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    My husband has been hounding me to buy this and I found it at my local Walgreens. So far not impressed. I made the burger just as the instructions say. The instruction sheet states don’t be afraid to really stuff it. Stating that people don’t put enough stuffing in the middle. Well, the burger did not stay together and all the cheese oozed out. I will try again when my husband comes home from work. Glad I only paid $9.99.

  5. brandy

    January 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    I bought this item for my brother who is a grilling fanatic and he LOVES it!!!! With the exception of it being non-stick he has no complaints. He can work past the stickiness…. We have had several parties and family events and always requested are the stuffed burgers. In past trying to stuff the burger it was always a mess. The Stufz helps create a perfect burger EVERYTIME PERFECTLY!!!! If the press decides to break oneday, trust me when I say we will be out purchasing another!!!

    Happy Burger Stuffing!!!!

  6. Michelle

    January 8, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I have yet to receive my order, but I also fell for the order 2…and did end up with a $40 charge, and I get a phone call from same # as above???about 4-5 times a day!!! I hope the product ends up being worth it!!!

  7. Robert Flores

    January 7, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    I’m so relieved that I read the reviews before buying the product. I’ll just wait for it to come to the store.

  8. Roxanne Michelle

    January 5, 2014 at 5:31 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your experiences! Invaluable. I was tempted to purchase the product but now I think simply using a kitchen utensil or finding it in a store is the better route.

  9. cindy furnival

    January 4, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    After reading all these reviews I definitly will not order this product. Its not worth the problems. Thankyou everyone for your coments.

  10. Kert

    December 18, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Will agree to the ordering, , the ordering process can be confusing to if ur ordering
    either (1) or (2) units.

  11. Robert

    December 18, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    I saw this on a tv commercial and ordered it. Since the order was placed I received phone calls from people offering vouchers and other stuff for a monthly price. I declined the offers but was met with very rude people. Cancelled my credit card just in case and called Stufz and cancelled my order. What an operation!! Never buy this crap!! SCUMBAGS!!!

  12. Dmand

    December 16, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    wait to it comes to your local CVS and/or your local pharmacy store or equivalent. Don’t order any as-seen-on-TV products from websites, nor call, either. Better yet, you can do this with simple utensil in your kitchen.

  13. Sunny

    December 15, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    Thank you for all your comments. I have yet to read a comment from anyone who has actually used the product and let us know if it is worthwhile or not. Can anyone share that info?
    Thanks,
    Sunny

    • waffles

      January 6, 2014 at 6:02 am

      We did use the product, as discussed in our review above.

  14. Fran

    December 13, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Do NOT order from this site, if you want a burger press, order from a reputable place, there are tons of burger presses on amazon. I ordered ONE stupid burger press, then they said if I’d pay for the shipping for an additional few dollars, I could have one more for free. When I ordered, again I was asked if I wanted two, and yes, I replied. I know this sounds like I now owed them about twenty, right? Or if, I did the same thing twice, then forty…..but I was actually charged SIXTY TWO DOLLARS AND CHANGE. There is no way you can UN-ORDER. When you call the company, they don’t answer. Finally got someone who gave me the run around. I did not give up, I called my credit card company and they stopped payment. This all took a couple of hours total, by the way. Order from these jerks at your own risk.

  15. Mr.Dapper

    December 11, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    I was about to order this product for my family for Xmas. However after reading the above comment I have changed my mind.Anybody no of a great Xmas gift to give my family? I will be buying between 8-12 of what ever it is so please help???

  16. Dan

    December 4, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I agree. Deceptive advertising and ordering. Customer service not very friendly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Reviews

More in Reviews

balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015
insta slim website 2015

Insta Slim Reviews: Do Men Like It?

wafflesApril 14, 2015
Mr. Lid Website Screenshot

Mr. Lid Reviews: Consumers Speak Out (April 2015 Update)

wafflesApril 14, 2015
No More Rack website screenshot

NoMoreRack Reviews: April 2015 Update

wafflesApril 13, 2015
pocket hose top brass website 2015

Pocket Hose Top Brass Reviews: Does it Handle the Pressure?

wafflesApril 12, 2015