Zoomies Review and Product Info

Zoomies Review and Product Info

Zoomies are wearable, hands-free binoculars which have been advertised on television as an inexpensive alternative to traditional binoculars. Today we offer our review of the product and seek reader input as well.

Sponsored links

About Zoomies

Zoomies appeared in early 2013, marketed as a way to replace traditional binoculars in a variety of situations such as sporting events, travel, or even watching television.

There are two websites currently marketing Zoomies: and appears to be the official website being advertised and was registered on January 3, 2013, while appears to be used only by affiliates and was registered on March 1, 2013.

How much do Zoomies cost?

One pair of Zoomies costs $10.00 + $9.95 processing & handling for a total cost of $19.95. (Note that the P&H was originally $7.95 when this review was first written). You can add a second pair for another $9.95 P&H for a total of $29.90 for both.

When ordering from the website, there is no way to opt out of this second “free” set, and there is no confirmation screen for you to review your order.

Zoomies can be found in stores, often in the As Seen on TV section.

Our Zoomies Review

We looked at several factors in our review of Zoomies.

Though the claim that Zoomies offer “300%” magnification sounds impressive, it really isn’t. 300% is just a fancier way of stating that these binoculars have 3x magnification, which is rather weak. Most inexpensive binoculars usually have magnification in the 7x to 15x range. 

Zoomies feel very cheaply made, of dollar store quality.

We could forgive low-level magnification and cheap plastic, but the most damning factor in our review was that Zoomies were simply out of focus, and we were unable to remedy this.

We were first introduced to Zoomies by a reader who felt he was overcharged when ordering the product. In fact, Ripoff Report has several complaints regarding the ordering process, and customers unhappy with charges different than what they expected.

Television Commercial
Below is the current television commercial airing for Zoomies binoculars:

Transcript of the television commercial above:

You want a closer look but the naked eye can only see so much. Squinting doesn’t help and binoculars are big, bulky, and expensive. Introducing Zoomies, the compact, hands-free, high-powered binoculars you wear like sunglasses. Zoomies gives you instant 300% magnification that brings everything up close. Look closer. Zoomies binoculars utilize the same vision magnification technology of expensive high-powered binoculars and condenses it into micro-vision lenses that adjust easily with a turn of the focus dial, and magnify up to 300%. With Zoomies you’ll enjoy mother nature up close. You’ll be so close to the action, you’ll feel the excitement, and you’ll have a front-row view of the big game, even from the cheap seats. Holding heavy binoculars is tiring on your arms and heavy on your neck, but Zoomies binoculars are so light, you’ll forget you even have them on. And when your head follows the action, so does Zoomies, hands-free. You can even switch on the sun shade to eliminate glare without switching to sunglasses. And they’re the clear choice of bird watchers, hunters and outdoorsmen, sports fans and anyone who leads an active lifestyle. You’ll be amazed at what you’ve been missing. They’re great for reading books and fine print in newspapers. You’ll love them for hobbies, arts & crafts, sewing and stitch-work, and they turn any TV into a big screen TV. And best of all, they fold and store easily in shirt pocket or purse. You can pay $200 for bulky binoculars or you can get Zoomies at the factory-direct price of only $10. Order now and get this handy neck lanyard and travel storage bag absolutely free. But wait, order now and we’ll double the offer and send a second complete set free. Just pay separate processing and handling. That’s two complete sets of Zoomies binoculars for just $10. See what you’ve been missing and zoom in on the action with Zoomies. Here’s how to order.


Here is the official website for Zoomies, captured in June 2013.

Bottom Line

This product is a buffet of bad features: Cheaply-construction, uncomfortable, blurry, and weak magnification. Combine that with shipping costs and confusing billing, and this product a dud. You can find a wide variety of binoculars locally, which you can test and find which ones suit you best.

1 out of 5 stars

Your Zoomies Reviews

Have you had any experience with Zoomies? Let us hear from you in the comments below.

Updated February 12, 2014

Sponsored links
  • Joy

    Totally useless item. No magnification. waste of money.

  • RCS Optics

    This article is a great review of a very poor product. Great summary. Be sure to find a quality supplier that can help you find a pair of binoculars that will provide the optical quality you need, with the features that you desire while still being affordable.

  • bob hunt

    These useless devices are now available in the U.K. Notwishstanding the appaling optical quality ( but they are cheap!)it would be quite impossible for anyone with ‘normal’ eyesight to be able to use them for reading/ crafts etc. at less than around 6 feet!
    Even if ‘reading’ is an acceptable pastime at 6 feet, I’m fairly certain that knitting is not, except as a spectator sport.

  • James Aitken

    After seeing the Australian TV ad I was “foolish” enough to believe the spiel and ordered the product from GLOBAL SHOP DIRECT. Eleven days later with no sign of the product being delivered, I went to the website and checked the delivery situation. “The order has gone to our warehouse” was the response. So they have had my money along with how many other sucker’s payments earning nice interest for the last eleven days. In effect we are funding this business with cash flow. Fortunately I paid with PayPal and I have asked Global to cancel my order forthwith. Failing this I will take the matter up with PayPal for resolution. Reading the revues here I don’t think the product is worth a cracker anyway.

  • Liz Ogden

    I made a mistake in my order but there is no way to stop shipment. I have now read these comments and no longer want this product. What can I do?

  • jj williams

    So glad to have found this page, read all this BAD info & will not order these things!No I’m not so old, or demented but thought I wanted to try them;
    just needed something to help work with tiny beads.
    Thank you everyone for alerting me of this rip-off, So sad to hear
    about the consumer fraud, which is the only feedback there is here!!

  • gaye

    junk. how can they get away with selling these. still don’t know what the white thing is. my nhusband thinks tomato slicer. but don’t think sharp enough. lol

  • Doug mizzi

    Wow,saw these on tv in Australia , we must have got all the crap left over from you guys in the USA, so I thought I would check these out. Wow what rubbish, not one good report, thats 100% customer dissatisfaction , plus you look like an idiot or creepy person. So glad I checked this site out. Thanks for you comments, I can only imagine the millions that never complained. Regards Doug, Queensland, Australia . .

  • OldOzzie

    In the add, most models are older. Okay, fair enuff, we need help with our sight somtimes….
    BUT if u wear GLASSES ( a modern invention, about 1286 going by Wiki ), do they work ??? giggle ‘caus not. A larff a joke not funny

  • Greg

    I have no one to blame buy myself. This was the first and last time I ordered As Seen On TV. In an age where a simple google search can retrieve hundreds of customer reviews for products, I somehow decided to not even bother and gave my money to purchase these sham, hands-free “binoculars”. Screw you Zoomies! The stupid crap I order at 2am…sheesh!

  • Dave

    Total ripoff. I was overcharged then told that I would be refunded the price of items and not the return shipping. Not even worth paying to return these. Please join me in filing a complaint to the better business bureau. This company has to be stopped!

  • EddieAnthony

    What a TOTAL PIECE OF “JUNK”!!! I bought these through Publishers Clearing House. When I received them in the Mail today,I read the Instructions and then tried them out. I centered in on the Top of a Telephone Pole to watch a Squirell. The Pole is 20 feet away. With these things on, the Pole was 30 feet away, even when I TRIED to Zoom In!! Folks, do what Everyone here is Saying. Review before Falling Victim to SHYSTERS Such as these!! I am Filing a report with the NH Better Business Bureau, and with the NH Attorney Generals Office, Pronto!!

  • alf bergkvist

    Zoomies SUCK big time and people that bought them should get refunded and take that crap off the market. I bought 4 pair to give as gifts for christmas and guess what they gave them back, what a rip off fraud phonies .

  • Tom Trussell

    I purchased a pair of Zoommies at Walmart and the are a piece of junk.

    I paid less than $10.00 and I am going to through them in the garbage.

  • B M

    I am just here to thank each and every one of you for purchasing the Zoomies. I do not work for them, but saw the commercial (which I love) and came to check how many idiots actually bought these things. Congratulations on making it so far in life.

  • Heather Perkins

    Dare I ask if anyone has had experience with returning these things? I admit, I caved – against my intuition – and bought the damn things because my youngest son wanted to give them to his Dad for Christmas. I ordered the update and ended up with $96+ dollars charged to my Visa…4 pairs were ordered! All I know is I hit submit for my order of 1 “buy one pair, get the second free” and my invoice came back with two upgraded sets ordered. GROAN!! There was no way to reverse it and they couldn’t “find” my order for 24 hrs….low and behold, it shipped. When I called, I was offered $10.00 off to keep the extraneous pairs…”Uh…no thank you!” Anyway, I would like to turn the whole shipment around when it gets here…wonder if I’ll ever get my money back.

  • Karen H.

    I’m SO GLAD that I took the time to read all these reviews because I ALMOST ordered a pair for my mother-in-law! What sickens me THE MOST is she would have ordered them on her own and she survives on a fixed income.

  • Meg

    My first impression of this product is that it probably looks absolutely ridiculous on. They are extremely heavy and uncomfortable to wear. When they are on you can see things about 20 feet away from you look like they are about 10 feet away from you. I did not expect much more from them because on the package it said it has up to 400 magnification. (Which is really not that good). On a positive note them were convenient to use and did not have to hold them up to your head. Although, when looking through them they make you seem like you have tunnel vision. I would say if you need a easy, simple binoculars I would recommend this product, but for very little to no money.

  • Nina

    Got a call from my 82 year old father who ordered this item today. when he finish the order he noticed that his credit card has been charged $58.00. there is no contact information available on the website. finally he ended up contacting his bank to stop the payment.

  • Dennis Williams

    While the name is new, Zoomies were sold over 40 years ago. They didn’t work then (I bought a pair) and it looks as if nothing has changed.

    • waffles

      Do you recall the original name?

  • Jessica D

    My mom tried to buy these with the special offer of getting one free with no extra shipping and handling. After doing the order and all was said and done, the final total come out to nearly $70. What the…really? $70? This is a complete ripoff. Don’t buy it. You can always wait for them to be sold at Wal-Mart or Walgreens. For which they will be sold with no extra extravagant costs.

    • waffles

      They are available in As Seen on TV stores.

  • Michael Criswell

    Zoomies are a ripoff and the law need to get this company for overcharge.people
    I was overcharge $47.00 this is a scam.


More in Reviews

kitty shack website 2015

Kitty Shack Reviews: Do Cats Love it?

James WhiteJuly 15, 2015
Perricone Cold Plasma Sub-D Website Review Screenshot

Perricone’s Cold Plasma Sub-D Reviews

wafflesJuly 14, 2015
tummy tuck belt review

Tummy Tuck Belt Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesJuly 11, 2015
nono pro website november 2014

NoNo Pro Review: Does it Really Work? (June 2015 Update)

wafflesJune 4, 2015
balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015