Reviews

Garcinia Cambogia Reviews

Garcinia Cambogia Reviews

In October 2012, Dr. Oz gushed about some exciting research he found about a potentially new weight loss supplement, Garcinia Cambogia. Read our garcinia cambogia reviews from editors and readers.

Sponsored links

Some may say Dr. Oz has become the poster child for online supplement scammers, spammers, and affiliates. If you find yourself on a website selling a “miracle” supplement with Dr. Oz plastered all over it, you’re probably better off shopping elsewhere. That said, we wanted to take some time to actually review this product, because Dr. Oz showered it with such praise.

Note: Be sure to read our reviews of other Oz-touted products such as 7-KetoSaffron Extract, or Relora. And don’t miss the other two articles in this series: Comparing Garcinia Cambogia Vendors and Garcinia Cambogia Side Effects

About Garcinia Cambogia

Garcinia Cambogia, or “Gambooge,” is a subtropical species of plant native to southeast Asia and Africa. Supplements are created from the fruit’s rind. As this scathing article points out, the supplement has been around for years, and there are studies which indicate that it doesn’t work at all.

This study further concluded: Garcinia cambogia failed to produce significant weight loss and fat mass loss beyond that observed with placebo.

WebMD

Despite the “Holy Grail” status Dr. Oz implied for Garcinia Cambogia, we find other voices, such as WebMD, a little more cautious. Regarding this plant, WebMD writes: Developing research suggests that garcinia might prevent fat storage and control appetite; however, whether these effects occur in humans is unclear. It also lists the supplement as Possibly Ineffective for weight loss.

Taking garcinia fruit rind extract doesn’t seem to decrease weight, fat breakdown, or energy expenditure in overweight people. There is some mixed evidence that garcinia might help people feel full even when eating less, but it’s too early to recommend garcinia for this use.

Side Effects

Garcinia is generally considered safe, but some people have experienced nausea, digestive problems, stomach cramps, and headaches while taking it. There is also some evidence that it may cause liver toxicity. Please see our more extensive article on the possible side effects of garcinia cambogia.

Sponsored Links

Other Reviews

There are many brands of Garcinia Cambogia available, and you can find many reviews online. If you factor in that almost every product on Amazon now has a certain percentage of fake positive reviews, the percentage of good to bad reviews on there isn’t impressive. Notice that there are as many 1 to 3 star ratings as there are 4 and 5 star ratings.

You may be interested in our article on how to select the right brand of garcinia cambogia extract.

Affiliate Marketers

Whenever Dr. Oz touts a new product, affiliate marketers are quick to advertise – often using his name without permission. Garcinia cambogia is no exception. We recently spotted an ad being advertised with a picture of Dr. Oz along with a before-and-after stock photo. This ad linked to an affiliate website, which had many of the same stock photos and verbiage we saw back in the acai craze of 2009. That affiliate site sent users to yet another garcinia vendor offering the typical “almost out of stock” warning, and pumped their “free bottle” – which was a miniscule free trial leading to an expensive subscription.

If you want to try Garcinia Cambogia, visit your local health or supplement store. You can compare different brands, and you won’t get stuck in a recurring subscription which may prove difficult to cancel. Also keep in mind that every “miracle pill” Dr. Oz has touted has ended up not being so miraculous.

Bottom Line

This supplement will likely prove to be another in a long line of unproven miracle pills, standing among acai berry, raspberry ketone, African mango, green coffee, and so many others. Each of these supplements have been highly advertised within days of being featured on the Dr. Oz show.

Your Turn

Have you tried Garcinia Cambogia? Give us your reviews in the comments below.

Updated November 4, 2014
Originally published January 2013

Sponsored links
View Comments (533)

533 Comments

  1. Stacey Dillards

    May 20, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    Hi I have been taking six of these everyday fit three days now and it is causing me to have to run to the bathroom. It also burns very bad after I finish. Please tell me what’s wrong :(

  2. Jessica

    April 15, 2015 at 6:29 am

    This is my 3rd day of taking Lipo G3 Garcinia Cambogia, and it will be my last! I chunk the whole bottle in the trash. It says to take two daily with a meal and 10 mins, only 10 mins, after I take them I feel extremely dizzy and naseous. I have seen no improvement in my weight at all! I cannot even function at work because of it.

  3. Cheryl

    March 22, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    Day 2 was yesterday and last night I had extreme dizziness and can still feel it. Let me recount this, 6 pills of garcinia has caused this side affect. I’m scared to take any more because of all the controversy I’ve read in the last few hours and I thought my research was thorough. The real unfortunate part is the fact that I can already see an improvement in my weight and how my clothes are fitting in the last 48 hrs!!! Apparently,Denmark has completely pulled it from their store shelves and is banned from being sold there. If you try and google garcinia cambogia + Denmark it takes you right back to the main page of buying it. I had read this on a blog somewhere last night from a resident there, as I was completely freaking out about being so dizzy. Obviously there is some sort of block so that people can’t read the facts. Bottom line, I’m dumping my GC, it seems like too much of a health risk. Apple cider vinegar in the long run is better for you…Be careful..

  4. OK

    March 21, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    Real Quick response: just finished 60 GC’s (1 a day)
    NO MORE FOR ME. READ ON.
    I especially felt the last couple weeks feeling;
    – nausea
    – balance was off slightly at times
    – stomach rumbling
    – didn’t curb my appetite
    – started feeling worrisome
    – lack of energy and lazy feeling
    – sometimes felt very anxious
    – hard time concentrating/focusing
    – had multiple movements a day

  5. kerrylindsey

    March 16, 2015 at 11:44 am

    I took this garcinia product, the gummy and the pure form in a fizzy tablet. I have had cramps, upset stomach, and severe diarrhea. I am 34 years old go to the gym 5 days and week 2 to 2 1/2 hrs a day, no prior health issues, and it hurts. I can’t eat, my kids need me to be functional, so this is not convenient. I’ve tried many health supplements, and this one is excruciating. If I lose weight, it’ll be because I can’t eat, and can’t quit going #2. I quit taking it 2 days ago and I’m still hurting.

  6. Crystal

    February 2, 2015 at 5:02 am

    I’ve been taking garcinia with green coffee for 3 weeks from purely inspired. Found it at Walmart. It said to take 3 pills in 30 minutes to an hour before lunch and dinner. 1600mg per serving 3200mg a day. 200mg green coffee per serving. Haven’t been that hungry. I eat one big meal at lunch and small meal at dinner or just sometimes a snack. Been sleeping better. Have had some side effects. Have had problems with constipation the last several days. Was nausea last week but only lasted one night. Had tingly feeling in left arm for several days off and on that worried me. Last couple of days took only one serving per day and had been able to go to bathroom better. Was hoping to lose weight but just didn’t happen.

  7. allen small

    January 3, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    I started taking Garcinia Cambogia and i having problem now with my bladder or something. now i do not feel I have to pee. I just get a tiny little pain below my belly button and i go bathroom and as soon as i do i pee. but before i go i do not feel i have to. It’s worse every time I take it. I just realized it might be that causing the problem so I stopped today and hope it gets better. Do not know if it is the reason but it did start when I started taking it ..Is it what caused it?

  8. Francesca Piazza

    July 10, 2014 at 5:17 am

    I started taking it (Garcinia Cambogia Pure Select) with 50% 1800 mg GC extract, 300 mg Green Tea Leaf, 200 mg of Caffeine about a week ago, and it does absolutely nothing. Luckily the only side effect I have is that it makes me feeling very sleepy (even if it contains caffeine, which is weird), and this is a problem because I need to study! I was on a diet before starting taking it, so I am loosing weight slowly but I do not believe that it is related to GC. It is because I eat healthy and I exercise.
    I actually asked for a refund when I realized that it was all a big lie, but they won’t give you any refund, they will offer you a discount.
    So, people, if you want to boost your metabolism and loose weight, my suggestion is to have a minimum of 30 minutes walk EVERYDAY, which at least 3 times a week should be of at least 45 minutes, and eat healthy (first of all cook instead of buying packed food, so that you know exactly what you are eating; eat pleanty of veggies, especially if raw; use whole grains instead of refined food like pasta or white bread, and anyway do not eat them not in big quantity; do not eat anything fried; use brown sugar instead of white, and, even bette, substitute sugar with honey, apple sauce or maple/agave syrup; limit dairy products, priviledge natural cottage cheese, fat free yogurt, quark, natural fromage frais, parmigiano in small quantities; eat poultry, fish, beans, nuts and seeds as proteins; eat fruits as snacks or at breakfast, but never at the end of meals; drink 2 litres of water/ herbal tea without any sugar every day).

    The most important thing when you want to loose weight, is not rushing.
    Nobody will ever loose 5 kilograms in 2 weeks. It is simply not natural, and not healthy, You could make it by starving and exercising a lot, but what would be the point? In that way you will then re-gain weight as fast as you lost it.
    Secondly: enjoy your meals. Take your time to eat. Never watch television or using your laptop/tablet while you eat. Focus on your plate, and, really, enjoy.
    If your meals do not give you satisfaction, you will always see the diet as a sacrifice, and it will be much more difficult.

    And…try to smile :-)

  9. Francesca Piazza

    July 10, 2014 at 4:49 am

    it is. first of all a company that instead of a refund gives a discount is not a serious company. secondly, how can you explain that all these people have so many side effects? it cannot be a coincidence. you’d better quit before it is too late.

  10. carin

    June 30, 2014 at 1:14 am

    I have been on GC for 1 week now, I am in South Africa, and got GC from a well known company, my bottle says, Pure Garcinia Cambogia, 60% HCA, 90 capsules – 1000mg, I take 3 pills a day morning , lunch and supper, only eat 1 hour after pill. try eat healthy and do moderate exercises, I have lost 2 kgs in a week, only side effect I get is very thirsty, which I love because I drink a lot of water.

  11. kwani

    June 19, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    I purchased the GC lipo g3 for the 4.99. Read up on it afterwards and seen that it was scamming people. Horrified, I ended up canceling my debit card before my 14 day trial. I took the pills one day… that day being today and not even and hour after taking it I experienced horrible nausea. Its now 2:45 am and I am still nauseous. Not taking anymore. Bottle will be thrown away.

  12. Justsayin2uisall

    June 9, 2014 at 3:05 am

    I was reading through the comments on here and am SHOCKED by how many people are using cheap WM “blends” of HCA (Garcinia Cambogia). Expect those not to work at best and possibly will have adverse reactions many report.

    READ INGREDIENTS FIRST PEOPLE! You must select a brand that is certified to contain a minimum 60% @ 500 milligrams. It’s fillers like Calcium that is causing nausea. At that high a dose, calcium causes the negative symptoms seen here.

    DON’T BE A “BARGAIN HUNTER” with GC… unless you enjoy getting ripped off. Most quality products certified and regulated by third parties will cost you between $35-$60+ Canadian.

    FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS. If the dose you’re taking is LESS than 2500 milligrams daily (1000 milligrams 30-60 minutes before BREAKFAST, LUNCH and DINNER) or greater than 3000 milligrams per day, you will be wasting your money. I absolutely promise.

    I’m starting week 2 of a healthy workout regimen (3-4 times a week with daily walks of 30 minutes or more), am eating much healthier and last week started taking a good quality brand of GC. This is my third day of using GC.

    I’m now eating less-to-no snacks and taking in considerably smaller portions thanks to GC’s “filling” properties. I went from 2800+ calories per day to about 1700 without any effort. I’m never hungry, nor do I crave sweets… at all thus far. I’ve lost slightly more than 2.5 inches off my waste alon last week and will check my weight/measurements at the end of week 2. I feel great and have minimal pain typically associated to stating a moderate-intense workout regimen.

    VERY HAPPY for that alone… but I’ll be able to compare my results more effectively after a full month of workouts/3 weeks of GC. Good luck to everyone on here looking to improve their health!

  13. Samantha

    May 1, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    After hearing about so many good reviews and very few bad reviews simply saying Garcinia Cambogia didnt work for some people I decided to try it. I got a brand called Phytogenix from Walmart and had no side affects. After hearing nothing but good reviews from another company called Lypo G3, though, I decided to try that brand. I got my bottle today and after only two doses, I felt absolutely horrible. I got shaky, nauseous, light headed, ended up throwing up for twenty minutes straight and couldnt even fall asleep to sleep it off. Please to anyone thinking about buying Garcinia Cambogia from Lypo G3, dont!

  14. Sue

    April 28, 2014 at 3:47 am

    I have been taking Garcinia for a little over a week now and after reading some of these comments, I don’t think I’ll be taking anymore. I have noticed only negative results – my weight has gone up, my stomach, legs & backside feel much larger. This is very disheartening given I was almost at my goal weight and now due to Garcinia I feel as though I have gone backwards considerably. I thought I researched Garcinia before buying, but clearly only read the ‘fake’ positives. Buyer beware and make sure you research both the positive & negative results of Garcinia. It appears this is yet another example of false marketing.

  15. allen

    April 24, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    iv bn taking gac since 1-15-14 i weighed 263 and now im 216 it works .

  16. Susan

    April 15, 2014 at 10:16 am

    I took 2 capsules before breakfast and 2 before lunch, and by dinner, I was cramping, had diahrea 6 times, and violently vomited 3 times. The nausea and pain lasted 4 hours, I had to cancel work the next day. I also was so weak despite eating a little and sipping water, that I slept 12 hours.

    • Alysia Henderson

      May 9, 2014 at 4:53 pm

      Everything I have read has said to only take 2 a day, and you took 4. You took double what you were suppose to…

  17. gerald hebert

    April 10, 2014 at 11:18 am

    I started taking 1 tablespoon of Salva Hispanica (CHIA) every morning 3 years ago.I still think this is really good food, however, after about one Month, my belly started to grow. I now learned that you do not take that every day; only when doing a hard Sport day, e.g. going for a long bike ride, canoe trip, judo clinic, etc. My wife did tell me that I was taking too much of it but I did not heed her advice. Sorry too late.
    Now about this Garcinia Cambogia poison. I listened to this Dr. Oz guy one day as he was telling everyone about this special stuff that would take off belly fat. Convincing as he can be, with his all-knowing kind of attitude, I fell for it. I really believed that it would rectify FAT BELLY!!!
    I ordered online and received 2 bottles of 60 capsules plus an extra one cause I did this special for a total of 180 capsules and started taking these about 4 weeks ago. On the bottle it says PURE Garcinia Cambogia Extract. 100% All Natural. 110097EXP 12/16. Suggested use: As a dietary supplement, take (1) one capsule two times a day 30 minutes before meals with an 8oz. glass of water. After about one week, I started to feel my calf muscles tightening up and some pain. I walk and bike a lot. Then passing gas more than when just on Chia. Then headachy in the morning. Then acid reflux. Nausea. My belly felt bigger and bloated. Then some depression crept in. I thought it was due to our longer than average winter, however, even a week in Cuba did not help. Things kept building up in last last Friday, the 7th of March. Heavy Diarrhea set in with terrible cramps, concentrated in lower left side of my abdomen. I stayed in all weekend and on Monday headed for my doctor’s office. They were a bit perplexed and ordered Stool: virology, culture, O/P which is now being done. I stopped the Chia and the Garcinia pills. Only then did I decide to do a Google search and luckily fell onto this Waffelsatnoon.com site, where I was able to read all of these negative comments on this poisonous stuff. WOW! Am feeling a lot better already. Hoping that the lab. tests come out negative. Hoping too that my liver was not damaged.
    So, be very careful with these herbal thingys everyone, even with a Dr. Oz doing the pitching. Some will do ANYTHING for a Buck. I am sending a copy of this to my Doctor and our National Dept. of Health in Ottawa. This poison should be banned. Not the Chia….as I will eat some more in the future when doing extra physical stuff like Walkathons, long bike rides, etc. One tablespoon in the morning 4 to 5 times a Month won,t hurt. Very good when baked into Brownies…. Tell your friends about this…………. I still teach Kodokan Judo as a Godan(5th degree B.B) and am not on any type of medication. Physical Exercise is the key. My last excellent exercise was to dump the remaining Garcinia pill into the garbage can with ceremony……including #%^^)(_*(_)+_)+)+) Dr. Oz!

  18. reviews for garcinia cambogia

    April 10, 2014 at 9:48 am

    The results of the remaining studies are extracted, processed into a common format
    and then combined. De Novo Lipogenesis (DNL) is responsible for conversion of carbohydrate into fat.
    It is offered in extremely low quantities in animal and plant cells which is
    why it is called a trace metal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Reviews

More in Reviews

balloon bonanza website 2015

Balloon Bonanza Reviews: Do Kids Love It?

James WhiteMay 3, 2015
Meaningful Beauty

Meaningful Beauty Reviews: Does it Really Work? (May 2015 Update)

wafflesMay 1, 2015
genie hour glass website

Genie Hour Glass Reviews: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 22, 2015
hurrycane website

HurryCane Reviews 2015: Does it Work?

wafflesApril 17, 2015
insta slim website 2015

Insta Slim Reviews: Do Men Like It?

wafflesApril 14, 2015
Mr. Lid Website Screenshot

Mr. Lid Reviews: Consumers Speak Out (April 2015 Update)

wafflesApril 14, 2015
No More Rack website screenshot

NoMoreRack Reviews: April 2015 Update

wafflesApril 13, 2015
pocket hose top brass website 2015

Pocket Hose Top Brass Reviews: Does it Handle the Pressure?

wafflesApril 12, 2015